Guest Reviews

for Gulls Cry Holiday Cottage in Whitby

An absolute gem!                                                                                                                                     (Trip Advisor)
Mandy Left on Jul 1, 2019 for a stay in Jun 2019
We have just returned from an extremely enjoyable and comfortable stay at Gulls Cry Cottage. Everything about this cottage is perfect. Spotlessly clean, equipped with everything you could possibly need and the beds are just pure comfort. We were blessed with fabulous weather and breakfast in the private and pretty court yard was an opportunity we just couldn’t miss. The cottage is perfectly located in the very heart of Whitby with its many quaint shops, restaurants and pubs right on your doorstep. With an extremely professional, cheerful and helpful host who was quick to respond to all my queries, I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Gulls Cry Cottage and I will most certainly be returning when I visit Whitby in the future. Once you find a gem like this, you don’t go anywhere else!

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Immaculate Courtyard Cottage                                                                                                                 (Trip Advisor)
Left on Jun 25, 2019 for a stay in Jun 2019
A perfect location, easy to walk to harbour, shops, bars and restaurants. Furnished to a very high standard and with every home comfort you could need. Colin the owner is exceptionally helpful and easy to reach should you require any help. We had a wonderful family weekend for my mums 80th Birthday, and took full advantage of the courtyard and summer house. We all decided we would live at the cottage if we could! Cannot recommend Gulls Cry enough and we will not hesitate to return.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Hidden gem                                                                                                                                               (Trip Advisor)

Stephen H Left on Jun 9, 2019 for a stay in Jun 2019

Visited Guls Cry with a friend who had visited in recent months. Totally recommend this cosy cottage to all who like to be in a central location and enjoy total relaxation. The cottage is furnished to very high standard and is exceptionally clean. Can’t wait to visit again soon. Parking is not available at the property however the owners provide a pass for free parking in certain zones, so it’s not a problem.

Colins Reponse

"Thank you re-visiting and wishing to come back yet again, we must be doing something right. Pointing out that Parking is no problem with our free pass is appreciated to assist future guests in making their decision on where to book."

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Great location, exceptionally well maintained                                                                                        (Trip Advisor)

Charlotte T Left on Jun 5, 2019 for a stay in May 2019
We’ve returned from a fabulous stay at Gulls Cry. It was a lovely clean cosy cottage right in the centre but also privately set back from very busy roads with private outdoor space. Thanks for the handy guide to Colin!

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Weekend in Whitby                                                                                                                                   (Trip Advisor)

Left on May 1, 2019 
Lovely cottage everything you need it was spotless You wouldn't want for anything else. Can't wait to stay again l would highly recommend

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Xinhe Xiong April 2019                                                                                                                                   (AIRBNB)

The host is very friendly, and provide us lots of local information including great restaurants, pubs and places etc. The house is beautiful and clean! Amazing experience staying here.

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Caroline P April 2019                                                                                                                                      (AIRBNB)

A fantastic house, beautifully furnished and exceptionally clean and well maintained. A lot of thought has gone into what will make this house as comfortable and homely as possible. The location is exceptional, tucked away just behind the front, so close to the shops, restaurants, Abbey and beach. The parking was simple and it was very handy to have a permit. Colin's house had everything we could have hoped for, including comfortable beds and lovely bedding, a powerful shower, freeview in the bedrooms and sky in the lounge and plenty of equipment in the kitchen for when we ate in. Colin was also really helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this property.


Response from Colin:
WOW thank you so much Caroline for taking the time to write a wonderful review that is genuinely appreciated. We do get good reviews but this one is fantastic pointing out all the great things about Gulls Cry. Thank you again and would welcome you and your family back anytime. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Private Feedback:
Thank you for a lovely stay, it really is a fantastic house with everything we could have wished for.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

 Excellent accommodation in Whitby                                                                                                            (AIRBNB)

Nicky Left March 19, 2019 

Gulls Cry Cottage Super comfortable and cosy for a winter break. We’d love to return in the warmer weather to take full advantage of the excellent outdoor facilities including summer house, BBQ and private seating area. The property has a well equipped kitchen, cosy lounge and very comfortable beds. We were a party of 4 and the accommodation provided everything we needed. The booking process was hassle free and the communication and useful information about places to eat etc from the owner was very helpful. We were really impressed with how flexible the owner was with arrival & departure times but this is dependent on whether there are new guests arriving after your stay. We have no hesitation in recommending Gulls Cry to anyone visiting Whitby and we look forward to returning in the future.


Ideal Location                                                                                                                                           (Trip Advisor)

Chris B Left on Mar 6, 2019 for a stay in Mar 2019

We spent 3 nights at Gulls Cottage. The location is minutes away from the Quay side.The cottage had everything we needed was spotlessly clean, the sofa's and beds were very comfortable. Our 4 year old Grandson loved the twin bedded attic room. There was plenty of hot water. The lounge with the log burner and Sky T.V.was nice and cosy on the evening it rained. Colin the host made booking easy and sent us lots of useful info about local places to eat etc. For a special seafood treat try Bridge Cottage Bistro at Sandsend.


Fabulous Stay over Xmas                                                                                                                          (HomeAway)

Sue P Left on 2nd January

The cottage is in a very good position; quiet but near all amenities. Everything is on its doorstep. The cottage was very clean (and I am extremely picky) comfortable and well appointed. I took my own pans but needn’t have bothered. We stayed over Christmas and there was a lovely tree and decorations. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. Colin was also excellent answering questions promptly."

________________________________________________________________________________________________Linda G Left Oct 2018                                                                                                                                    (AIRBNB)

A beautifully fitted out cottage in an ideal location. Real quality, plus a friendly and helpful host. My grandsons loved the hidden staircase up to their secret bedroom.

Private Feedback:
A lovely cottage and we really appreciated the quality of the furnishings and fittings. Location was excellent. Thank you


"Amazing cottage a stones throw from the harbour, shops, railway station, pavillion and eveything. the host provided amazing details of restaurents and pubs to visit. we simply had an amazing time and would return in a heartbeat."

Apr, 2018


"After our thoroughly enjoyable visit in early November 17 we almost immediately booked our return trip. A group of four ladies we were totally comfortable and once again thrilled with the above and beyond facilities. Colin is very helpful, easily contactable and puts a lot of effort into his care of this beautifully decorated delightfully furnished, extremely clean, perfect placed home away from home. I’m sure we will return. Thanks again."

Feb, 2018


"An absolutely outstanding little gem in the heart of Whitby, well equipped through out & spotlessly clean from top to bottom, look no further you won't be disappointed, the best nights sleep I've had in ages the beds are so comfortable I didn't want to leave, parking not really an issue but you park on the crescent a short walk away which is perfectly safe & a scratch card parking ticket is included in the price, the photos probably don't do it justice, it's a perfect location literally 2mins walk to the harbour yet quiet & cosy on an evening, will definitely re-book on our next visit to Whitby."

Nov, 2017


"Gulls Cry is a beautiful cottage and had everything we needed for a wonderful stay. It was spotlessly clean and very well thought out. I couldn't believe how old it was yet renovated to such a high standard with all mod cons. We also adored the little courtyard and summer house, which was an added bonus. I loved the fact that there was washing up liquid, tissues, sachets of salt, sugar etc... for your use. Perfectly located, just a couple of minutes walk to the harbour and all the lovely restaurants. The Co op is just a 10 minute walk for groceries and if you just need odd bits or run out of milk, there's a Poundland just round the corner from the cottage The owner, Colin is so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and he messaged after we arrived to check that everything was ok. We walked up to the Abbey which was tough on the legs but well worth it. Visited Scarborough which wasn't overly impressed with but absolutely loved Robin Hoods Bay. We also went on the Whitby ghost walk which lasts an hour and was very humorous and definitely recommend. We ate in The Moon and Sixpence one night which was very good but quite expensive. Loved Abbey Wharf, over the bridge which does great fish n chips, scampi and is very pretty in the evening with all it's twinkly lights and great harbour views. If we returned to Whitby we would definitely go back to Gulls Cry and highly recommend it."

April, 2017

 

Read more reviews on Trip Advisor/Home away & AIRBNB

 

"Gulls cry cottage is a perfect home from home. The cottage is in an absolutely perfect location for a little break away to explore Whitby. Everything you could possibly need had been thought about in this cottage and there are lots of lovely extra touches. Colin and Linda were brilliant hosts and extremely accommodating."

Sept 2018


"Absolutely beautiful cottage in a fabulous location. Every small detail has been thought of to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. Cannot recommend highly enough and Colin went above and beyond. Will definitely be back."

Sept 2018


"Such a lovely property, right in the centre of things yet very quiet. Superb host - very helpful and always communicative. A real home from home, very clean and would definitely recommend."

July 2018


"What an amazing stay we had, the location is perfect, short walk to harbour and a car park opposite. Lovely cosy and clean cottage with everything you need. Will be visiting again!"

Feb 2018


 

"The cottage is right in the centre of Whitby and extremely well presented. Your a stone's through away from the habour side and yet very quiet inside. The yard is also very nicely done and great for sitting out in. Colin was very helpful providing information about Whitby as well. Would stay again gladly!"

Sept 2016

 Read more reviews on Air BnB

 

"6 of us spent 3 nights in the cottage for New Year and had a great time. The cottage is well located within easy walking distance of pubs restaurants shops beach and harbour. It’s very well equipped and very comfortable. Would definitely highly recommend it."

Dec, 2018


 

 "We found the cottage to be immaculate and very cosy and loved how close it is to the harbour and all whitby has to offer. We loved coming back from our days out to the cottage and it felt like home from home.

Especially liked the log burner and the bedrooms were so cosy and the beds were very comfortable!

Would not hesitate to book again, would like to visit in the summer, would be nice to use the little summer house and sit out in the courtyard with a glass of wine!

Colin is so helpful and recommended different places to eat, we liked Abbey Wharf for fish and chips and we had a lovely meal at the Moon and Sixpence on New Year's Day."

Dec, 2017

 Read more reviews on Trip Advisor/Home Away & AIRBNB